أبحاث علمية

يعتمد بتسي بوكس كثيراً على البحث العلمي المطول الذي يثبت أهمية اللعب في السنوات الأولى من عمر الطفل، وتشير الإحصاءات بأن هنالك ارتفاع ملحوظ في عدد الأطفال المصابين باضطراب طيف التوحد بالإضافة إلى العديد من صعوبات النمو الأخرى، ويفسر العديد من العلماء والباحثين ذلك الارتفاع المؤسف إلى التغيير الذي حصل لنظام ونمط حياتنا التي باتت تتسم بالسرعة الهائلة والذي أدى إلى الابتعاد عن اللعب والتركيز المبالغ به على التعليم الأكاديمي حتى خلال سنوات الطفولة المبكرة على حساب “اللعب الحر الذي يتمحور حول الطفل نفسه” كما فسرته الأكاديمية الأميركية للأطباء المختصين في علاج الأطفال، كما أضافوا بأن ذلك قد وصل المرحلة الحرجة في تهميش حواس الطفل و العمل على تحفيزها بشكل دائم.

كما يضيف كينيث جينسبيرغ في دراسته “أهمية اللعب في تعزيز التنمية الصحية للطفل والمحافظة على العلاقات والروابط القوية بين الأهل والطفل” بأنه: من المهم جدا أن يقوم الأهل والمراكز المعنية بالأطفال بالحملات التي تهدف إلى نشر الوعي حول أهمية اللعب و العمل على تنظيم النشاطات التي تعزز ذلك للحصول على التوازن الصحيح لحياة الأطفال وخلق أفضل بيئة تنموية ممكنة لهم.

وبشكل مفصل أكثر، قام كل من فايث باركر وأليسون بوك، وكينيث غريفين، وكارول ريبل، ولينور بياي بالإشارة في بحثهم المشترك “العلاقة بين الأهل والطفل، بيئة التعليم المنزلي، والاستعداد للمدارس” إلى أهمية اللعب الحسي في تنمية حواس الطفل خلال سنوات نموه الأولى، و تحسين مهاراته الحركية الدقيقة، بالإضافة إلى تقوية العلاقة الصحية ما بين الأهل و الطفل.

وهناك مثل غربي درج في إنجلترا وفرنسا وإسبانيا في القرن السابع عشر، حيث يقول هذا المثل:

كثير من العمل و قليل من اللعب يجعل من جاك طفلاً مملاً

وكتب كل من كينيث روبين، ووليام بوكوفسكي، وبريت لورسين في الفصل المعنون ب” تفاعل الأصدقاء و اللعب في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة ” في كتابهم ” تفاعل الأصدقاء، العلاقات و المجموعات في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة”، عن أهمية اللعب الحسي في زيادة الإبداع، ويعرّفون اللعب الحسي بأنه العملية التي من خلالها يتم ابتكار علاقات غير تقليدية للأشياء المعروفة، وقد تؤدي هذه العلاقات إلى ابتكارات واكتشافات وحلول جديدة”.

تعتبر هذه الأبحاث العلمية والكتابات الأكاديمية جزءاً من الأبحاث الكثيرة التي تناولت أهمية اللعب الحسي في مرحلة الطفولة المبكرة، حيث نعتمد في بتسي بوكس بشكل جوهري على البحث العلمي وخلاصاته، انطلاقاً من اهتمامنا الكبير بتنمية حواس الطفل، ولذلك تعطي صناديقنا الفرص والمجالات لأطفالنا ليستمتعوا باللعب الحقيقي الحر بشكل عملي وبشكل مصمم خصيصاً ليتماشى مع قدرات وطاقات الأطفال، كما أنها تعطي الطفل الفرصة لتجميع المحتويات بطرق مختلفة لتكوين علاقات جديدة، الأمر الذي يؤدي إلى تحسين إدراكهم الحسي بشكل متكامل.

Why Bitsy Box?

Bitsy Box relies heavily on extensive research and scientific factors reinforcing the importance of play in early child development. Recent statistical reports suggest that there has been an increase in the number of children with ASD and other child developmental challenges. Some scholars attribute this unfortunate increase to the changing, hurrying lifestyle of our time in addition to the deviation from play and the excessive focus on academic education even during the early years of the children’s development on the expense of “recess or free child-centered play”, as suggested by the American Academy of Pediatrics. It has even reached the tipping point that children’s senses have become undermined.

Moreover, Kenneth Ginsburg in his study “The Importance of Play in Promoting Healthy Child Development and Maintaining Strong Parent-Child Bonds” asserts that it is highly important for families and children-oriented centers to advocate for the importance of play and ensure that it is offered and protected moderately in order to provide the right balance for children’s lives and create the best possible developmental aura.

More specifically, Faith Parker; Allison Boak, Kenneth Griffin, Carol Ripple, and Lenore Peay in their study titled “Parent-child relationship, home learning environment, and school readiness” reiterate the importance of sensory play in the development of children’s senses during their early years, the improvement of their motor skills, and even in facilitating a strong parent-child relationship.

On a slightly lighter note, there is an English, Italian, French, and Spanish proverb from the 1600s that says:

all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

Additionally, Kenneth Rubin, William Bukowsky, and Brett Laursen in “Peer Interactions and Play in Early Childhood” a chapter in their book “Handbook of Peer Interactions, Relationships, and Groups” write that the importance of sensory play is manifested in its great deal of attention towards creativity. In fact, they define sensory play as the process of finding new combinations for known things. These combinations may yield new forms, new inventions, new discoveries, and new solutions.

This is just a quick review of the extensive scientific research and scholarly articles conducted on the importance of child sensory play in early development. We at Bitsy Box are motivated by the aforementioned explanations, as we value children’s sensory development. This is why our boxes offer a great deal of hands-on, children-oriented, free-play and opportunity for the child to combine the content of the boxes in new ways to discover new combinations and ultimately improve their overall sensory awareness.

Bitsy Box is not only about countering child developmental challenges and preventing them, it is also about enhancing the child’s sensory and developmental capacity to grow more intelligent.